What Is Going Gluten Free?
People suffering a range of conditions from celiac disease to autism have turned to a gluten free diet. This diet excludes eating the protein gluten. As gluten is found in a number of inexpensive grains such as wheat, barley, and rye among others, it is often not an easy diet to follow as so many foods contain this protein in one form or another.
Gluten is known to cause inflammation in the small intestines of those who have celiac disease. This results in many symptoms, many of which are painful enough to be debilitating for a period of time after ingesting gluten. It is important for those who have a medical diagnosis of this condition to remain on a gluten free diet as inflammation can cause medical complications.
Following a gluten free diet
The first frustration many people on a gluten free diet experience is losing out on some of their favorite foods. What’s good about recent public information on this problem is that more people have become aware they have this health concern. The fortunate consequence of this is there are more foods available made with gluten ingredients now, then a few decades ago. It’s also much easier to find substitutes for favorite foods.
Non-celiac sensitivity to gluten can result in some of the same symptoms those with the condition experience. As with any food sensitivity excluding this from the diet as often as possible will result in fewer symptoms.
Making the Switch at Home
Finding products in the grocery store that exclude gluten has become easier, but it can make cooking in a household more complex. Some foods are naturally gluten free and these include fresh eggs, beans, seeds, and nuts in their unprocessed form, fruits, vegetables, and most dairy products. Always check contents of some foods to make sure they are not mixed in any way with gluten, such as breaded, batter coated, or marinated meats. Look for gluten free flours such as rice, soy, corn, bean or potato. Buckwheat and flax are both allowed on this diet as is quinoa.
Sneaky Foods to Avoid
You might not know that malts such as malt flavoring, and malt vinegar are made from barley. Graham flour is a good example of something made from a wheat that goes by a different name. It’s better to make some foods at home, but if you can find pies, cakes, cookies, and crackers that are part of a gluten free diet then give them a try if they are part of your over all diet.